Roasted Red Pepper Chicken Cavatelli

RedPepperCavatelli

The last time I was going to make this, I was missing quite a few ingredients and my dinner turned into something else. This time, I had most of the ingredients, but not quite all. I made some modifications and it still turned into a dish that we really like. I think this would be good with grilled Italian sausages cut up in the pasta. I also think it would be good with grilled summer vegetables. So, I was out of ricotta and used a shredded cheese blend. Since I would not have the smooth cheese to mix with the pureed red peppers, I left them chunky. We all liked it very much, but one of these days I will make it as designed. In the meantime, try this variation or try the above suggestions.

Roasted Red Pepper Chicken Cavatelli

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cavatelli pasta (I used the whole pound, but maybe it meant 2 cups cooked)

  • 2 Tbsp extra-virgin olive oil

  • 2 chicken breasts, diced into small pieces

  • 2 roasted red bell peppers

  • 1 Tbsp smoked paprika (I only used 1/2 Tbsp)

  • 4 ounces Whole Milk Ricotta Cheese ( I had 2 cups shredded italian cheese blend)

  • salt and pepper to taste

  • 1/4 cup freshly chopped parsley (I did not have any)

Instructions:

  1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.

  2. Add the cavatelli and cook until al dente.

  3. Place the two peppers in a food processor and pulse until smooth. (I left them rough rough chopped like a salsa)

  4. Transfer peppers to a small sauce pan and bring to a low simmer. (Not necessary)

  5. Add the smoked paprika and continue to simmer while you finish the rest of the meal. (Just mix the paprika into the chopped peppers)

  6. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high.

  7. Add the diced chicken.

  8. Season with salt and pepper and sauté until browned on all sides and cooked through.

  9. Drain the pasta water and add the pasta to the chicken.

  10. Then add the pepper sauce and ricotta cheese.

  11. (I just added everything to a really big bowl while it was all still hot)
  12. Stir to fully combine everything.

  13. Taste and season accordingly.

  14. Add fresh parsley and serve immediately!

  15. You can also garnish with freshly grated Parmesan if you prefer. 

RoastedRedPepperRoasted Red Peppers Ready to get Roughed up

Leave a comment

Filed under What's for Dinner

Leave a Reply

