Mango Tango Margarita

Almost a month ago, we went to Jax Fish House in downtown Denver. We had a delicious margarita made with infused tequila. Armed with just the description of the drink and the 3-2-1 ratio of strong-sweet-sour of a classic margarita, I set out to recreate the drink. First we need to decide on the tequila. I prefer blanco tequilas in margaritas, so I decided to use Corazon Blanco. It has very smooth oaky vanilla notes which I thought would go well in this drink. I poured 16 ounces of tequila in a quart mason jar. I then added half a fresh pineapple cut into chunks as well as a cut up medium sized orange. I then added a split vanilla bean and sealed it up. Twice a day I shook it up and dreamed of the taste. After a week, I strained out the fruit and kept for garnish. I also poured it through cheesecloth to remove the small bits of flotsam. I next cut up a very ripe mango and pureed it in a small food processor. Finally, I squeezed the juice from a lime. We are now ready to mix our drink.

  • 1 1/2 ounce pineapple orange infused tequila
  • 1/2 ounce Grand Marnier
  • 1/2 ounce mango puree
  • 1/2 ounce lime juice

Add all ingredients plus a cup of crushed ice to a shaker. Shake it like you mean it for about a minute. Strain into a margarita glass and garnish with an infused pineapple and orange slice. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Cocktails

Leave a Reply

