Easy Steak Dinner

Mondays can be difficult. Most of the time I want nothing to do with cooking after a challenging Monday at work. However, I usually want the comfort of home after such a day… so cook I must. Looking back over my food  in months past, I see a trend. I tend to cook with beef on Monday, my subconscious must find those food items easy to cook, or find them comforting. Let’s see I usually cook steak, hamburgers, tacos…yep both easy and comforting.

So, to make it easy, we are having steak. I need to stop at Safeway on the way home and pick up something tasty. Safeway has some decent beef, so not really a desperate choice at all. After browsing all the delicious red flesh, I settled on some well marbled ribeyes. They were a bit thin for my tastes, but should do nicely. I think thin steaks are more challenging to cook than thick ones. The line between juicy medium rare and dry medium done is a very thin one and easy to cross in no time at all. This means I need to babysit them and not be running back and forth tending other dishes.

So that leads me to roasted red potatoes and green beans. The first is able to take care of itself hanging out in the oven. The second item after its initial preparation can finish in less than two minutes.

I quarter the potatoes and put them in a gallon ziploc bag. I douse them with olive oil and grind fresh Tellicherry peppercorns and throw in some salt. I shake to coat, dump them out on a pan, and shove them into a 375 degree oven for at least 30 minutes or so.

For the green beans, I boil them in salted water for 7 minutes and shock them in ice water to stop them cooking. I then melt butter and saute garlic for 30 seconds. I add the juice of a lemon and a tablespoon of honey and throw in a handful of sliced almonds. I let these flavors meld for two minutes and then toss the green beans back in to heat and coat with all the goodness.

Leave a comment

Filed under What's for Dinner

Leave a Reply

