Steak and Spinach Salad

I actually wrote the below blog back in August, it was to be my first entry on my WordPress website. I guess I was having trouble getting started as you can see from the first blog I wrote that disappeared. I am not sure what my rhythm will be for these posts, but I do cook almost every night. I just do not always want to write about it. I want to keep my recipes online so I can refer back to them. And maybe, my kids will use them to cook with one day. I plan on telling my daughter about them as soon as I get a few more under my belt.

Anyway, tonight is T-bone steak, fries, and spinach salad with bacon vinaigrette. You can read about the steak and seasonings below. I do not think I will make the strawberry vinaigrette ever again. It turned out to be more like a strawberry smoothie. It was not very pleasant on a spinach salad. Instead, I am using the bacon vinaigrette recipe below. I do not remember where it came from. In any event, I probably modified it. Enjoy!

Bacon Vinaigrette

Ingredients:

  • 4 slices bacon, diced
  • 3 tablespoons stone ground mustard
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 3 cloves chopped garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

Instructions:

  1. Add diced bacon to a medium skillet or sauce pan over medium heat.
  2. Cook until crisp. Remove bacon from pan and set aside.
  3. Add mustard, honey, garlic, and salt and pepper to the bacon dripping.
  4. Combine well with a whisk.
  5. Add apple cider vinegar to the pan, whisking to combine as pouring.
  6. Continue to whisk until the vinaigrette has thickened slightly.
  7. Add bacon bits back to the vinaigrette.
  8. Pour into a jar that has been warmed under hot running water prior.
  9. Best served warm or at room temperature.

Earlier blog on this subject

Friday, August 10, 2012

Well, one has to start things somewhere. I might as well pick the main thing I spend a lot of time thinking about. What’s for Dinner? Actually, I wrote one of these two days ago using Comcast’s Blog Tool. It was about hamburgers. When I clicked “publish,” it disappeared. I will not be doing that again! I will re-write that post again the next time we have hamburgers. But today, we are having steak.

Steak! Definitely something I would consider as a last meal I love it so. Today, it is nothing remarkable, just some cheap steak I picked up from Safeway. Today, it is some moderately thick and marbled strip steaks. My go to way of seasoning steaks is as follows. I always coat the steaks with olive oil before seasoning. I use kosher salt, fresh ground black pepper, and Tony’s Prime Rib Seasoning. I have some Penzeys  steak seasoning that I got with their monthly free coupon. I really should use that sometime. Next time, for sure, no really.

The other boring thing we are having with the steak, is baked potatoes. I am not going into their preparation today. The new thing I am trying for this dinner tonight is a strawberry vinaigrette dressing I read on the “How Sweet It Is” blog awhile back (link). I am not going to make the salad from the blog, but a spinach salad instead. I thought perhaps fresh baby spinach, balsamic marinated onions, toasted pecans, strawberries, and some cheese. I have some Manchego cheese from another salad I must tell you about someday. This will be dressed with the afore mentioned dressing. I usually like my spinach salad wilted somewhat, but my son does not. So, in the miracle of seeing him eat spinach, we will go it cold.

Leave a comment

Filed under What's for Dinner

Leave a Reply

